DE|EN

Road Trip USA 2022

From Aspen to the North Pole in one day

The Rocky Mountains in Colorado

We start from Parachute in the direction of Aspen, where I have already picked out a breakfast location. The journey takes approximately 1.5 hours and coming from the north you will pass right by Aspen Airport. Here it becomes immediately clear that there is probably something to the prejudices, because dozens of private jets are lined up at the airport. Anyway, the sun is shining and we're getting hungry too. We quickly find out that the city center is mostly closed off because it's the Saturday market. Nevertheless, we find a parking lot with a parking meter directly in front of the Spring Cafe.

Strengthened, we throw ourselves into the fray. The market is a mix of stalls selling local fruit and vegetables, baked goods and local handicrafts. As so often, it is a totally relaxed and friendly togetherness and everything in the very pretty historic city center.

Of course, there are also Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Dior, etc., even though Aspen officially has just over 7,000 inhabitants

Aspen - historical centre The Wheeler Opera in Aspen Aspen city view

We learn a bit more about the history of Aspen and the region in the Wheeler/Stallard Museum. Here a very friendly elderly lady welcomes us and tells us, among other things, that Aspen receives many more visitors in summer than in winter, since the Aspen Music Festival takes place here, for example. I've always associated Aspen with winter and skiing, which of course is just as easily possible in the surrounding mountains and with the many lifts.

Hotel Jerome in Aspen Aspen - small residential buildings on the main street Aspen city view

We also learn that Aspen was originally founded in the 19th century after silver deposits were discovered in the area and then mined on a large scale. At the time, all of the surrounding forest was cut down to build shelters and tunnels. The current tree population has been completely reforested.

We can explore remnants of mining just a few hundred yards further at the Holden/Marolt Mining & Ranching Museum and later along Independence Pass (Independence Ghost Town). The road itself meanders beautifully but narrowly through the surrounding mountains. The air is great and so is the view.

At the highest point of the pass, you suddenly find yourself at over 12,000 feet (3700 m) without realizing it. I can't remember ever having been that high, and certainly not by car. The whole thing is then topped by the surrounding mountains, almost all of which are over 14,000 ft (4270 m) high. Oh yes, if you walk a few meters you will quickly notice that the air is pretty thin.

Mountain panorama at Independence Pass in Colorado

It is now early afternoon and as already mentioned, we still want to get to the North Pole. So it's going downhill again for now. Past the Twin Lakes and then on towards Colorado Springs. On the way we keep coming across small settlements, which we use for a short stop.

Holden/Marolt Mining & Ranching Museum General Store and Gas Station at Twin Lakes VW Bulli somewhere in the middle of nowhere

Around 6 p.m. we arrived below the approx. 14.100 ft (4300 m) high Pikes Peak, where the legendary "Race to the Clouds" mountain race takes place every year. And right here is the entrance to the North Pole :-D Even if we can only catch a glimpse of the outside, it's just so typically American.

The North Pole in Colorado

Now it is only a few minutes to our accommodation in West Colorado Springs. For dinner we go to a Texas Roadhouse. For me also at least once a must, if one travels through the USA. Yes, it is a chain restaurant, but that is simply part of the USA and the price-performance ratio is almost always right.

Chicago Elevated CollageChicago Elevated (Collage)
Poster 36x24 in
Opera House in SysdneyOpera House in Sydney
Poster 36x24 in

DE|EN

Road Trip USA 2022

Von Aspen bis zum Nordpol an einem Tag

Die Rocky Mountains in Colorado

Wir starten von Parachute in Richtung Aspen, wo ich uns schon ein Frühstückslokation rausgesucht habe. Die Fahrt dauert ca. 1,5 Stunden und von Norden kommend, fährt man direkt am Flugplatz von Aspen vorbei. Hier wird direkt deutlich, dass die an den Vorurteilen wohl schon etwas dran sein wird, denn auf dem Flugfeld sind dutzende Privatjets aufgereiht. Wie auch immer, die Sonne scheint und wir bekommen langsam auch Hunger. Schnell stellen wir fest, dass die Innenstadt größtenteils abgesperrt ist, da Samstagsmarkt ist. Wir finden dennoch direkt vor dem Spring Cafe einen Parkplatz mit Parkuhr.

Gestärkt stürzen wir uns ins Getümmel. Der Markt ist ein Mix aus Ständen mit lokalem Obst und Gemüse, Backwaren und lokalem Kunsthandwerk. Wie so oft ist es ein total entspanntes und freundliches Miteinander und das alles im sehr schönen historischen Stadtkern.

Natürlich tummeln sich hier auch Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Dior usw. und das obwohl Aspen offiziell nur etwas mehr als 7000 Einwohner zählt.

Aspen - historisches Zentrum Das Wheeler Opernhaus in Aspen Aspen Stadtansicht

Etwas mehr zur Geschichte Aspens und der Region erfahren wir im Wheeler/Stallard Museum. Hier empfängt uns eine sehr freundliche ältere Dame und erzählt uns unter anderem, dass Aspen viel mehr Besucher im Sommer empfängt als im Winter, da z.B. das Aspen Musikfestivals hier stattfindet. Ich habe Aspen immer mit Winter und Skifahren in Verbindung gebracht, was natürlich in den umliegenden Bergen und mit den vielen Liften genauso hervorragend möglich ist.

Hotel Jerome in Aspen Aspen - kleine Wohnhäuser an der Hauptstraße Aspen Stadtansicht

Ebenso erfahren wir, das Aspen ursprünglich im 19. Jahrhundert gegründet wurde, da in der Gegend Silbervorkommen entdeckt und dann im großen Stil abgebaut wurden. Zu der Zeit wurde der gesamte umliegende Wald abgeholzt, um Unterkünfte und Stollen zu bauen. Der heutige Baumbestand ist also komplett wieder aufgeforstet worden.

Überreste des Bergbaus können wir nur wenige hundert Meter weiter im Holden/Marolt Mining & Ranching Museum und später entlang des Independence Pass (Independence Ghost Town) erkunden. Die Straße selbst schlängelt sich wunderschön, aber eng durch die umliegenden Berge. Die Luft ist toll und der Ausblick sowieso.

Am höchsten Punkt des Passes befindet man sich plötzlich auf über 12.000 Fuß Höhe, ohne es bemerkt zu haben. Das sind immerhin fast 3700 Meter. Ich kann mich nicht erinnern, schon einmal so hoch gewesen zu sein und schon gar nicht mit dem Auto. Das Ganze wird dann noch getoppt durch die umliegenden Berge, die fast alle über 14.000 ft (4270 m) hoch sind. Ach ja, wenn man ein paar Meter läuft merkt man dann auch sehr schnell, dass die Luft schon ziemlich dünn ist.

Bergpanorama am Independence Pass in Colorado

Mittlerweile ist es früher Nachmittag und wie bereits angemerkt, wollen wir ja noch bis zum Nordpol. Also geht es nun erst mal wieder etwas bergab. Vorbei an den Twin Lakes und dann immer weiter in Richtung Colorado Springs. Unterwegs treffen wir dann immer wieder mal auf kleine Siedlungen, die wir für einen kurzen Stopp nutzen.

Holden/Marolt Mining & Ranching Museum General Store und Gas Station an den Twin Lakes VW Bulli irgendwo im Nirgendwo

Gegen 18 Uhr sind wir dann unterhalb des ca. 4300 m hohen Pikes Peak angekommen, wo alljährlich das legendäre Bergrennen "Race to the Clouds" stattfindet. Und genau hier ist auch der Eingang zum Nordpol :-D Auch wenn wir nur kurz einen Blick von außen erhaschen können, ist es einfach so typisch amerikanisch.

Der Nordpol in Colorado

Nun sind es nur noch wenige Minuten bis zu unserer Unterkunft in West Colorado Springs. Zum Abendessen gehen wir in ein Texas Roadhouse. Für mich auch mindestens einmal ein Muss, wenn man durch die USA reist. Ja, es ist ein Kettenrestaurant, aber das gehört in den USA einfach dazu und das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt fast immer.

Permanent VacationPermanent Vacation
T-Shirt
BrotzeitBrotzeit
T-Shirt