Road Trip USA 2022

Two days araound the Great Salt Lake in Utah

Today's destination is Salt Lake City. As it's still a 4-hour drive, I've planned a breakfast stop halfway. In bright sunshine, we enjoy a delicious breakfast at Ruca´s in Garden City on Bear Lake.

Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City

We follow Interstate 89 and reach Salt Lake City around midday. Our first destination in the city is the Utah State Capitol. Like many state capitols in the USA, it has a large dome and various huge columns. Fortunately, we can also visit it from the inside, which was not entirely clear as today is Sunday. It was different a few years earlier in Washington.

main hall of the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City conference room in Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City dome of the Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City

Afterwards, we take a stroll through the district south of the Capitol and enjoy the beautiful houses with their old trees. Suddenly it is already late afternoon. Our hotel for the next night is further north in Farminton. So the idea is to drive past the shores of the Great Salt Lake and then take Highway 80 to Farmington. So we drive to "The Great Saltair", a venue right on the lake. On the way there, we make a detour into the neighborhood to get an impression of how people live here.

Homes on Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City Homes on Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City Homes on Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City

When we arrive at the Great Saltair, everything is there but no water. Obviously the lake is so dry at this time of year that you can't even guess how far it is to the water or whether there is any water in the lake at all.

The next day we drive to the Bonneville Salt Flats. This is a huge salt flat where people are always trying to set new speed records with all kinds of vehicles. I thought long and hard about whether it was even "worth" going there, because it's just 125 mi (200 km) from Salt Lake City and you have to drive the same distance back again. What's more, it's just a straight interstate and there's nothing else to see.

In the end, we decided to do it and I can tell you in advance that it was unique and well worth it. So cruise control on and off we went. By the way, there is still a little something to see on the way. "The tree of Utah": a sculpture that was erected in 1986 to bring some color to the barren salt desert.

A few kilometers further on, there is a large rest area from which you can drive directly into the salt desert. As far as the eye can see, the earth is covered in a thick crust of salt. It is also extremely bright and unbearable without sunglasses. Of course, we also have to drive over the salt flat. The salt crust is so hard that you hardly leave a mark with your car.

art installation 'The tree of Utah' Bonneville Salt Flats Raceway salt crust (Bonneville Salt Flats)

Tip: The rest area can only be reached coming from Salt Lake City, at least if you follow the traffic rules. So take this into account when planning your trip.
And keep an eye on your gas tank, because there are no gas stations between Salt Lake City and Wendover.

The actual Bonneville Raceway is a few kilometers further towards Wendover, but it looks similar there. However, there was a complete film of water on the salt and the surface was not as dry as at the rest area.

Now we still have to get to Wendover. That's nonsense, of course. Wendover is just a small town in the middle of nowhere. The only thing that makes it special is the fact that it lies right on the border between Utah and Navada. Unlike Utah, gambling is permitted in Nevada. That's why the first casinos are actually located right on the border. And Wendover also has a landmark, so to speak. The Neon Cowboy.

Casino at the border between Utah and Nevada Neon Cowboy in Wendover

Before we make our way back, we treat ourselves to a coffee and a small snack. The next hotel is in Springville on Utah Lake and it takes us a good two and a half hours to get there. We stop again in Provo because we liked the facades of the houses so much when we drove through that we want to take a closer look. So we park and take a stroll through the area around Center St. and University Ave.

Once we arrive at the hotel, our first task is to find a restaurant. I find the Strap Tank Brewery just on the other side of the highway. Unfortunately, as is so often the case. As there are no footpaths, let alone streetlights, we have to drive even this short distance.

However, the location is great. The entire area consists of stacked shipping containers in which stores and restaurants have been set up. It must have only recently opened, as it was still an empty space on Google Maps.

Provo Centre Springville - Shopping area made of shipping containers Springville - Shopping area made of shipping containers
Last Stop: Coney IslandLast Stop: Coney Island
Wall Art 36x24 in
Art Print: Devils Tower WyomingDevils Tower Wyoming
Art Print 24x36 in

Road Trip USA 2022

Zwei Tage rund um den Great Salt Lake in Utah

Das heutige Ziel ist Salt Lake City. Da es noch ca. 4 Stunden Fahrt sind, habe ich auf halber Strecke einen Frühstücksstopp eingeplant. Bei strahlendem Sonnenschein genießen wir ein leckeres Frühstück bei Ruca´s in Garden City am Bear Lake.

Utah State Capitol in Salt Lake City

Wir folgen der Interstate 89 und erreichen gegen Mittag Salt Lake City. Unser erstes Ziel in der Stadt ist das Utah State Capitol. Dieses ist, wie viele State Capitols in den USA, mit einer großen Kuppel und diversen riesigen Säulen versehen. Zum Glück können wir es auch von innen besichtigen, was nicht ganz klar war, da heute Sonntag ist. Das war ein paar Jahre zuvor in Washington noch anders.

Haupthalle des Utah State Capitols in Salt Lake City Konferenzraum im Utah State Capitols in Salt Lake City Kuppel des Utah State Capitols in Salt Lake City

Danach spazieren wir noch ein wenig durch das Viertel südlich des Kapitols und erfreuen uns an den schönen Häusern mit ihrem alten Baumbestand. Und plötzlich ist es schon später Nachmittag. Unser Hotel für die nächste Nacht liegt weiter nördlich in Farminton. Somit ist die Idee noch am Ufer des Great Salt Lakes vorbeizuschauen und dann über den Highway 80 nach Farmington zu fahren. Wir fahren also zum "The Great Saltair" einer Eventlocation direkt am See. Auf dem Weg dorthin machen wir noch einen Abstecher in ein paar Nachbarschaft, um einen Eindruck davon zu bekommen, wie die Menschen hier leben.

Häuser am Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City Häuser am Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City Häuser am Capitol Hill in Salt Lake City

Am Great Saltair angekommen, ist alles da, nur kein Wasser. Offensichtlich ist der See zu dieser Zeit so weit ausgetrocknet, dass man nicht einmal erahnen kann, wie weit es noch bis zum Wasser ist oder ob überhaupt noch Wasser im See ist.

Am nächsten Tag fahren wir zu den Bonneville Salt Flats. Das ist eine riesige Salzfläche, auf der immer wieder versucht wird, mit den verschiedensten Fahrzeugen neue Geschwindigkeitsrekorde aufzustellen. Ich habe lange überlegt, ob es sich überhaupt "lohnt", dorthin zu fahren, denn es ist einfach 200 km von Salt Lake City entfernt und man muss die gleiche Strecke wieder zurückfahren. Dazu kommt, es ist einfach nur eine schnurrgrade Interstate und es gibt nichts weiter zu sehen.

Am Ende haben wir uns entschieden, es zu tun und ich kann vorwegnehmen, es war einzigartig und hat sich für uns gelohnt. Also Tempomat an und los. Achso, eine Kleinigkeit gibt es unterwegs doch noch zu sehen. "The tree of Utah": eine Skulptur, die 1986 errichtet wurde um etwas Farbe in die karge Salzwüste zu bringen.

Wenige Kilometer weiter kommt dann ein größerer Rastplatz, von dem man direkten Zugang zu den Salzflächen hat. So weit man schauen kann, ist die Erde mit einer dicken Salzkruste bedeckt. Dazu ist es extrem hell und ohne Sonnenbrille nicht zu ertragen. Natürlich müssen auch wir mit dem Auto ein Runde auf der Salzfläche drehen. Die Salzkruste ist an der Stelle so hart, dass man tatsichlich kaum Spuren mit dem Auto auf ihr hinterlässt.

Kunstinstallation 'The tree of Utah' Raceway auf den Bonneville Salt Flats Salzkruste (Bonneville Salt Flats)

Tipp: Der Rastplatz ist nur aus Richtung Salt Lake City kommend erreichbar, zumindest, wenn ihr euch an die Verkehrsregeln haltet. Berücksichtigt das also bei eurer Planung.
Und achtet auf euren Tank, denn zwischen Salt Lake City und Wendover gibt es keine Tankstellen.

Der eigentliche Bonneville Raceway ist noch ein paar Kilometer weiter in Richtung Wendover, aber dort sieht es ähnlich aus. Alledings war bei uns dort ein komplettes Wasserfilm auf dem Salz und die Fläche nicht so trocken, wie an dem Rastplatz.

Jetzt müssen wir noch nach Wendover. Das ist natürlich Quatsch. Wendover ist einfach nur ein kleiner Ort mitten im Nirgendwo. Einzig die Tatsache, dass es genau auf der Grenze zwischen Utah und Navada liegt, macht es etwas speziell. Denn im Gegensatz zu Utah ist in Nevada Glücksspiel erlaubt. Daher gibt es auch die ersten Casinos tatsächlich direkt auf der Grenze. Und Wendover hat sozusagen auch ein Wahrzeichen. Den Neon Cowboy.

Casino direkt an der Grenze zwischen Utah und Nevada Neon Cowboy in Wendover

Bevor wir uns auf den Rückweg machen, gönnen wir uns noch einen Kaffee und einen kleinen Imbiss. Das nächste Hotel ist in Springville am Utah Lake und wir brauchen gut zweieinhalb Stunden bis dorthin. In Provo halten wir noch einmal, weil uns die Häuserfassaden beim Durchfahren so gut gefallen haben, dass wir sie uns genauer ansehen wollen. Also parken wir und schlender etwas durch das Viertel rund um die Center St. und University Ave.

Am Hotel angekommen, ist die erste Aufgabe mal wieder ein Restaurant zu suchen. Gleich auf der anderen Seite des Highways finde ich die Strap Tank Brewery. Leider ist es wie so oft. Da es keine Fußwege, geschweige denn Straßenlaternen gibt, müssen wir selbst diese kurze Strecke mit dem Auto fahren.

Wie auch immer, die Location ist super. Das komplette Areal besteht aus aufgestapelten Schiffskontainiern, in denen sich Geschäfte und Restaurants angesiedelt haben. Es muss auch erst vor kurzem eröffnet worden sein, denn auf Google Maps war es noch als leere Fläche zu sehen.

Provo Zentrum Springville - Shoppingarea aus Schiffscontainern Springville - Shoppingarea aus Schiffscontainern
das australische Outback aus der LuftAustralias Outback
Poster 90x60 cm
the australian Outback from the airAustralian Outback
Poster 36x24 in